We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

layered text [Resolved]

missy88missy88 Member Posts: 2
edited November 2014 in Resolved Issues
I am totally new to MTC software. I have black text with white text on top of it. I want to cut the black text on black vinyl and the white text on white vinyl. I want the white text that I have on top of the black text to be knocked out of the black text so that when I apply it I don't have vinyl on vinyl. How do I do this? Please help!
Post edited by SBryanW on

Comments

• MeFlickMeFlick Member Posts: 9,232
    Hi @missy88 and welcome to Make the Cut! (MTC) and its forum!

If you haven't found the "user manual" yet, you will want to and look through it throughly. You can find it through the "help" menu from within the MTC program. You don't mention the cutter you have, but that linked manual refers to using the Zing cutter initially in the first couple of chapters (but a lot of that information also applies no matter your cutter so its still good information to review). Starting in Chapter 3 I think, it is all how to use MTC no matter the cutter being used. I am sure @SandyMcC who wrote the manual has covered in detail how to do layered text and there are probably also videos linked on it as well.

Quick answer, based on the information you provided - there are a couple of different ways you can approach what you are trying to do. First, you will want to have the two different colors of text on their own layers within MTC. Put the black text on the bottom layer and the white text on the layer above the black text. Then you can open and close the "eye" on each layer for cutting as needed.