We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Cutting double sided adhesive foam

NomadNineNomadNine Member Posts: 3
Hi All,

I’m after some guidance for a task I would like to try out. I am new to using Cricut having bought and repaired a secondhand Explore Air 2 machine. So far I have yet to carry out any projects other than an initially machine set up that proved that the machine was working OK but the blade needed replacing.  

I would like to create and ultimately cut out some shapes that can be used to stick on badges from classic cars without using the original pins - don’t want to drill the bodywork but stick the badges on like modern cars. For this I need to create the outline, which I can do, but then I want to prepare the shapes and use thin (about 1mm) foam that has adhesive on both surfaces and has a mounting layer on both sides.

Can the Cricut machine be used for this and if so what is the best blade or tool to use? I’m concerned that the adhesive will bung the blade up or it will drag when cutting. Or would it be better to use a laser cutter mounted on a CNC machine?

Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• Liz_ALiz_A Member Posts: 11,007
    @NomadNine - what is the brand name of the product you want to cut? Knowing what it is, what it's chemical composition, etc. would help.
    Still using MTC but slowly migrating to SCAL. KNK cutters including the Force and Maxx Air continue to be my favourites. Fluent in other cutter languages.
  • NomadNineNomadNine Member Posts: 3
    I hadn’t explored products that far as it was exploring options. However, having now had a look around it would most likely be something like 3M VHB 5952. This sort of thing that is strong more reliable for outdoor use.