We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Measuring the size text you want to cut

Busybee1234Busybee1234 Member Posts: 1
I am very new to Cricut, received my Cricut explore air 2 today. I’m struggling with cutting correct size text. I’m using an iPad. I’ve done a sample name and I want to print it at 4.5cm width and 2.5cm height. I’m using the Cricut design app, I’m on the canvas page, I selected the font, moved the letters to where I wanted them and then moved up to top left corner ready for cutting to minimise the vinyl used. When I press make it goes on to another screen and all the letters of the word are jumbled and every size material I choose it either says to font large or changes the size I have already put in! Help I can’t find information anywhere! Why did it jumble the letters up when I changed to the next screen and how do I put in what size vinyl I’m using? Please help. 

Answers

• Liz_ALiz_A Member Posts: 10,679
    edited August 1
    @Busybee1234 - this is the Make The Cut! software forum. We don't support the Cricut Explore Air 2 or any other Cricut.

That said, Cricut has been having a terrible time with their cloud software, its been updated and updated and still people are experiencing issues. This could be one of them.

Font sizes are set by choosing a font size. 72 points will print at approximately 1 inch high. So do the math, 36 points is 1/2 inch, 18 points is 1/4", etc. Once you have the size height wise set, use the sizing handles to adjust the width.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ip-LkdtfTAQ - check out this video, it highlights mistakes new people may make, in your case it seems to fit.