NEW VERSION OF PCS RELEASED! - Popup Card Studio v1.1.0
Click here to learn more!

We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 25% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

washing items with vinyl

ttownttown Posts: 14Member
edited November 2010 in General
I have some glass mugs, and glasses, and cake carrier I want to put vinyl initials and dots on. I have th outside vinyl which is suppose to stick longer. Do these items need to be handwashed only? and will they stand up to handwashing. Also I have some car tags I want to put vinyl images on. These will stand up to rain, etc. correct? I am new at this so I am welcoming your comments. I wanted to enter a local craft show also. I want my products to stand up to what the people pay for. Would hate for them to by a cake carrier and everthing come off when you wash it. :) etc

Comments

• MaxineMaxine Posts: 4,002Member
    i used outdoor vinyl on my suv windshield and have run it thru both manual and automatic carwash many times
    Im happiest when Im working
    im going to put some viny on a glass tonite and run it thru the dishwasher I'll let you know how it goes
  • neldanelda Posts: 11,637Moderator
    I have vinyl decal on my car for about 4 months now, no sign of pealing. One is even just contact paper, not even vinyl!
    In Indy, blogging along at http://papercraftingwithnelda.blogspot.com/
    Lettering Delights affiliate - order through here to give me credit!
    Cutters: using the the Silhouette SD almost exclusively these days!
  • kittskikittski Posts: 1,339Member
    Heat could be the problem with the dishwasher. I would recommend hand washing just to be safe. You should be fine using the outdoor vinyl.
    Alicia "I'm old enough to know better, too young to give a rat's a**."