We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Best blast media for glass etching on glass mugs

Pain_In_The_GlassPain_In_The_Glass Member Posts: 2
edited November 14 in General
hi..a newbie here...a few questions:

1 - what is the best blast media and grit size to use for etching on glass mugs?

2 - I am using a glass media i got from harbor freight to experiment with....i feel the image should be darker. Do i change media and grit size or keep using the glass media and blast the image longer?

3 - what is the best psi to set my air compressor at?

i do have a sandblasting box.

thank you in advanced for your help.

Comments

• Liz_ALiz_A Member Posts: 9,527
    @Pain_In_The_Glass - if you use the Search box at the top right of this page or any other page in the forum, you can search all posts. There have been many discussions about glass etching and sandblasting boxes, etc. over the years.
  • Di-liteDi-lite Member Posts: 3,186
    What media are you using and what pressure have your set your compressor to.  Can you increase your pressure and if so by how much.  The higher the pressure the quicker the blasting process.  The longer you hold your gun at an area the deeper the cut will be.
    Have fun, Di, ID 14610
    UK, Cameo, Serif Draw, Win10.
    Link to My Craft Bazaar | Link to Skool | Force Bazaar - Archimedes
    Feel free to use anything in these links.
  • GabeGabe Moderator Posts: 4,391