We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Laser printers

katieanneliese1katieanneliese1 Member Posts: 2
Hi, I'm new to this.. just purchased a Heidi swapp hot foil machine! Basically I want to be able to print onto cardstock.... but can't seem to find a laser printer that can handle card stock 250-300gsm. Does anyone have any advice on laser printing onto card? Thankyou :)

Best Answer

• Crazy_Mr_ZingCrazy_Mr_Zing Member Posts: 2,881
    Accepted Answer
    Maybe a forum or blog dedicated to Heidi swapp hot foil machine may provide current printer recommendations

I found a mention of straight-thru paper path  that sounds what you might be looking for
    I found one there maybe more no idea if it compatible with the foiling process

The Brother HL-L2300D
    Straight-through paper path
    A manual feed slot and rear paper exit provide a straight-through paper path to ensure that all of your printed materials always look their best.

I Use Zing Air, Make The Cut - Pop Card Studio, WinXP- Win7 -Win10
    Paper Modellers I Revere Marc Hagan-Guirey ----- Yoshinobu Miyamoto ----- Peter Dahmen
    Gallery ID #26944 ----- Link to My Cloud Have a Look your Welcome to Make Use of the Files

Answers

• Crazy_Mr_ZingCrazy_Mr_Zing Member Posts: 2,881
    My quite old HP laser handles 250gsm never tried 300gsm

I've never try foiling but have read some printer manufacturers use toner is not compatible with foiling. maybe a myth ?

Check the printer spec's they will say what weight they are capable of

My rule of thumb is the less arduous the paper path the better
    I Use Zing Air, Make The Cut - Pop Card Studio, WinXP- Win7 -Win10
    Paper Modellers I Revere Marc Hagan-Guirey ----- Yoshinobu Miyamoto ----- Peter Dahmen