We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Silhouette Cameo 3 for Thin Paper Sewing Patterns

PhilkoPhilko Member Posts: 2
edited September 25 in General
Hi

I am a fashion designer that uses 3D software to draft patterns, i use programs like CLO 3D and Adobe Illustrator. 
I would like to be able to cut out my patterns on thin 80 - 90 gm paper, often quite big in size, so definitely without using the mat. 

Could the Cameo 3 do this task? Cut out a sewing pattern on 2 meters of thin paper without the mat? or would the paper break?

Thank you

Comments

• Crazy_Mr_ZingCrazy_Mr_Zing Member Posts: 2,811
    edited September 25
    Cutting any material that does have a backing sheet without a mat is not really possible the mat is what holds the material in place until the cut is complete
    On many machines cutting adhesive vinyl without a mat is possible where only the top layer is cut through therefore the backing sheet have the pieces in place

I'm not familiar with silhouette machines to know if they have a length of material limit
    but it would be possible on some machines to have a 2 metre long mat albeit it maybe a little awkward to manage 

The was a machine the made claims of matless cutting it left short sections uncut at interval

I Use Zing Air, Make The Cut - Pop Card Studio, WinXP- Win7 -Win10
    Paper Modellers I Revere Marc Hagan-Guirey ----- Yoshinobu Miyamoto ----- Peter Dahmen
    Gallery ID #26944 ----- Link to My Cloud Have a Look your Welcome to Make Use of the Files
  • PhilkoPhilko Member Posts: 2
    Oh, ok. Thanks for the Response

What im looking to do is what this guy is doing on this video.