We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Help with AI export of svg for MTC

I am new to AI and am trying to create an svg that will load in MTC.  I am getting a error message when trying to import the svg.  Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? When I copy and paste from AI, I am getting some double lines...MTC also gets confused because of some layers that I need to cut separate.  It thinks the paths are connected and not overlapping.  Any help is much appreciated! 

Comments

• Hannah17Hannah17 Member Posts: 2
    When I copy and paste into MTC, only one of my objects is filled...I'm not sure what is different about that one! Any suggestions?
  • Liz_ALiz_A Member Posts: 9,559
    @Hannah17 - first go read some information on exporting files from AI that apply to the cutting program for C3. I believe that this may help you even though you do not use a Force or C3, the principles may apply.:

http://www.iloveknk.com/0um/Force-with-C3/KNKForce-with-C3-UM.pdf - go to page 4-11.

When you import, are you going to File => Import => SVG?

After reading and following the suggestions, please post back your results.

For Copy from AI and Paste to MTC, not sure about the non-filled shapes. You could try selecting all, then click Advanced icon on bottom of screen, then choose Fuse 'n Weld, set to the maximum. See if that helps.

Double lines are normal behaviour in a trace, think of thick borders applied in other programs as just shapes in MTC, and so there are two shapes, two lines. 
  • Crazy_Mr_ZingCrazy_Mr_Zing Member Posts: 2,919
    edited August 25
    I'm not expert also it difficult to see how this is constructed without seeing the AI
    Are you on windows or mac

it's been a while since I tinkered with ai to mtc