We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Digital Die Cutting machine for Mac

joeykuijoeykui Member Posts: 3
edited August 2017 in General
Hi All,

I'm a newbie looking for a digital die cutting machine that would work with my MAC. I tend to make a lot of cards and boxes for corporate gifts and gift wrapping, and make paper toys. Ideally I would like one that can emboss, and may want to eventually cut leather, metal and thin pieces of wood. As a newbie I would like something that would have a wide reservoir of support and tutorials.

I'm in the Philippines so that may make it difficult to get some models, which is why I'm leaning towards the Silhouette Cameo or Curio... Probably the Cameo and then just tinker with it to figure out how to emboss?

but I could have something shipped from the states...

Would you guy have any advice?

Comments

• SandyMcCSandyMcC Member Posts: 7,263
    edited August 2017
    When it comes to leather, wood, metal, and even thicker paper products for boxes, you won't get what you need from any Silhouette cutter because all of their models are low force.  When they claim to cut materials like chipboard or leather, we're talking about the thinnest possible versions of those materials which, conveniently, they sell in order to be able to make those exaggerated claims.  Their chipboard is so thin that I don't know of a single crafter who would even call it chipboard if they happened upon it.  It's more of a heavy craft paper.