We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Cut out pre-printed images not in vector format on a plotter?

BiskolBiskol Member Posts: 7
Hi all,

I am new to plotters and MTC.
I have a question which should be simple to answer, but finding an answer online seems to be difficult.

I am considering purchasing a KNK, I wish to use MTC.
Can I cut out pre printed images (let us say a google image for example without guides), single or multiple images with MTC?

My Mum has so many images from CD's etc, but not in the vector format, so it would be useful to be able to cut them out somehow.
We have seen the silhouette plotter perform the task, so we are looking for a better plotter to do the same via a computer aided software.

Is this possible?

Thank you, Biskol

Comments

• leslie6111leslie6111 Member Posts: 2,349
    edited June 11
    Yes. MTC is superior in my mind to silhouette studio. You will have to convert the raster (jpg, png, tff, non vector pdf etc)  - trace the image to convert it to a vector or path so that it can be cut around - that is what MTC will do for you. A lot of us own knk cutters, I own an original zing and a force, which one were you interested in?
  • Crazy_Mr_ZingCrazy_Mr_Zing Member Posts: 2,923
    This video shows a few methods of doing a print and cut using pre-printed
    materials
     Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio Q&A Webinar - August 05, 2014

I Use Zing Air, Make The Cut - Pop Card Studio, WinXP- Win7 -Win10
    Paper Modellers I Revere Marc Hagan-Guirey ----- Yoshinobu Miyamoto ----- Peter Dahmen
    Gallery ID #26944 ----- Link to My Cloud Have a Look your Welcome to Make Use of the Files
  • BiskolBiskol Member Posts: 7