We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Split Letters

7dogs7dogs Member Posts: 13
Okay, I am new to all this and a work in progress.  I am trying to do a split letter monogram and I followed all the directions and thought I was doing okay until the Boolean join, it wouldn't work for me.  Don't know what I am doing wrong.  Also if I select a letter, how can I make designs around it?  Like I said I need Make the Cut for Dummies.  I see all the designs on Etsy, but how do I make my own.  I am more interested in things to make for t-shirts, pillows, totes, walls, and glass.  Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• leslie6111leslie6111 Member Posts: 2,331
    You can only boolean join 2 shapes - Please post your file so we can see your progress.

1. type your word or monogram- no splitting so 1 shape
    2. place rectangle on top
    3. copy rectangle and paste it back and size down the width - stack your shapes so all are on top of each other
    4. Take the wider rectangle and copy it to your clip board and the boolean join it with the word
    5. Paste from your clip board back the wider rectangle since it disappears with the boolean join.
    6.boolean join the 2 rectangles together
    7 select all and then weld everything together to make shape
    8 now that you have the split word or monogram  you can add what you want.
    @7dogs we all had to learn - and it is a good thing that there are a lot of resources including the forum to ask questions. Which is not available with every program.
  • Crazy_Mr_ZingCrazy_Mr_Zing Member Posts: 2,734
    @7dogs welcome to the Make the Cut Forum