We are running a sale on Popup Card Studio. Save 28% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order now!

We are also running a sale if you purchase both Make The Cut! and Popup Card Studio. Save 38% right now during this very limited time sale. Click here to order!

Help Please! New silhouette cameo user!

khandford91khandford91 Member Posts: 2
Hey everyone,

I am a complete newbie to this site and also to the Cameo.

I got the cameo as a birthday present yesterday and since been playing around with it. I have come across a problem which is making me wonder is the cameo what everyone makes it out to be? Basically, I am trying to cut some vinyl stickers for my partners business, I have followed the recommended settings and also changed settings by 1 each time on the blade, thickness and speed but I seem to get the vinyl snagging where its taking out letters that need to be there, or if I alter it by one it doesn't cut enough to the point where I can't weed the vinyl as its only lightly scored it.

I am using Ritrama vinyl which came with the cameo, does anybody have any experience with this vinyl? Is it a cheap vinyl, could this be the issue? I have checked the blade and all seems to be okay, there isn't any vinyl or excess material anywhere in the cameo.

Can anyone shed a light on whats going on? I want to be able to enjoy using the cameo and right now I really don't, its just become frustrating :(

Thank you in advance :)

Kelly x

Comments

• CapturingTheHeartCapturingTheHeart Member Posts: 85
    This could be one of a number of issues. For vinyl I normally have the blade set to one, do test cuts with the pressure until it cuts through the vinyl, but not the backing, and then adjust the speed down for intricate designs, probably a 5 or so.

It also helps to run your squeegee over the vinyl to make sure it's stuck to the backing well.